John Overton Memorial Firefighter Award

Introduced in 2003, the John Overton Memorial Firefighter award is a perpetual trophy is awarded to the first firefighter to cross the line - regardless of whether full-time, professional or volunteer fire-fighter.

John Overton, 52, was killed on the evening of 21st September 2002 when working as a volunteer with the Kanimbla Rural Fire Brigade at Mt Piddington, near Lithgow, NSW. John was working with a group felling a burning tree, during a hazard reduction burning, when he was struck by the tree and killed. John completed the event twice (2002 in 4:33 where he won the over-50 age category and 1999 in 4:49). The Six Foot Track Marathon was his favourite event to compete in.



  Male Winner Female Winner
2003 Drew Shaw (Kogarah) N/A
2004 Drew Shaw (Kogarah) Sarina Tomchin (Balgowlah Heights)
2005 John Leggett (Brookfield) N/A
2006 Helge Hansen (Forests Bathurst) N/A
2007 Wayne Gregory (Sydney Communications) N/A
2008 Wayne Gregory (Sydney Communications) Fran Plunkett (Bungowannah)
2009 Wayne Gregory (Sydney Communications) N/A
2010 Alan Heap (Mount Wolson/Mount Irvine) Fran Plunkett (Bungowannah)
2011 Ashley Burke (Hornsby) Fran Plunkett (Bungowannah)
2012 Race Cancelled  
2013 Stephen Jackson (Watton) N/A
2014 Clinton Killen (Woolahra) N/A
2015 Clinton Killen (Woolahra) Tova Gallagher (Blaxlands Ridge)
2016 Clinton Killen (Woolahra) Tova Gallagher (Blaxlands Ridge)
2017 Clinton Killen (Woolahra) Kylee Woods (Arthurs Creek- Strathewen CFA, VIC)
2018  Darryl Taylor (Rocksberg Moorina) Julie Brock (Berkeley Vale) 
2019 Kane Fillingham (Yass River - Nanima) Sakiko Miyake (MFB Eastern Hill)





 Thank you to our sponsors



camelbak logo


bmrc logo